top of page

Festivals and Fairs

This may be a bit of a longer blog since I decided to wait and combine two weeks this time. I mostly do the same things every week, so I thought it would be easy, but a lot actually happened these past two weeks.

A few things I did two weeks ago were: 1: I paid my phone bill. This was an adventure because I had no clue where to go to pay my phone bill, so I walked around until I finally found a "Loterica" where I could pay. The loterica is literally a place you go to pay bills, which I didn't know. 2: I was featured in an International Studies Abroad alumni newsletter email. It just talked about what I am doing now and my goals for the future. 3: I presented a lecture on feminism in the US. I thought the lecture went really well; people were very receptive and asked how they could be involved and what they could do to support the movement and women. 4: Alexa and I also went to an underprivileged school to talk to some of the students who were middle school and high school ages and learning English to have a conversation with them in English and show them that learning the language is beneficial as English is accessible in their own hometown and country. It was a cool experience as they were excited to ask questions about us and the US in general.

I've also been exploring a few bars and restaurants with friends. We met the third year students at a restaurant for beers after class two Fridays ago. It was a lot of fun talking to them outside of the classroom and also listening to the mixture of English and Portuguese everyone was speaking.

The day after, we went to a bar with some friends and then got invited over for dinner. I didn't really want to go out but it's hard to tell people here no because they just assume that I will want to do what they want to do. One of the things that frustrates me is that people have started just making plans for me and Alexa. They'll plan who will drive us places when we already have a ride set up or they will just bring us to a barbecue and not really ask if we want to go if we are already hanging out. I'd like to be asked if I want to go because sometimes I'd rather go home and sleep instead of always being dragged somewhere and have to socialize when all I want to do is sleep. I'm glad I have friends, but I feel like I don't always get to make decisions for myself and it's become frustrating.

On Sunday, we went to a barbecue with some people who had graduated from the University with their English Teaching degrees. It was pretty fun, but one guy was really making everyone uncomfortable talking about how he's 43 dating a 19 year old and he has an 18 year old son and daughter. He was also very sexist and I don't believe I'll be hanging out with him ever again. One of the teachers at the university who had graduated with him had driven us, so I felt better that she was there and that she was the one driving us home.

Monday through Wednesday were relaxing days as I just had conversation clubs and went shopping for some new shirts.

Every Thursday, there is a fair around the cathedral downtown. It's a ten minute walk from our house, but I hadn't gone to the fair yet as my Thursdays are busy with lectures and class. Since we didn't have a lecture for once, I was able to go. There were a bunch of different food stands and some trampolines for the kids to play on. I got Ukrainian food with Alexa and some brigadeiros for dessert. Then I had class and it went really well and later I went out for drinks and fries with some of the teachers and a few students who are my friends. It was a very good day full of a lot of food.

On Friday, I had class and then went to the fair again. The fair is normally only on Thursdays, but I think it was three days long this week because of Mother's Day. This time I had sushi and it was very good.

Saturday was an absolute blast. It was also a great adventure. I didn't do anything until around 5 when I started getting ready to go to a festival in a town called Holandia. As Alexa and I were getting ready to leave and meet the people driving us, we realized we couldn't unlock our front door. Every house here is gated and we were trying to unlock the gate, but the key wouldn't turn and it wouldn't even go in the front side (imagine us jamming our arms through the gate to try to unlock the door from the front). We also have a garage door gate that we almost decided to hop, but we had no way of getting back in. So we called our landlord and he came over to give us a clicker for the garage door and to work on the door. When we finally got to the apartment 30 minutes late, we waited outside for our friends to come out. As we waited, a woman came out and started walking towards us. I stepped back to let her get by, but she came up and wrapped her arms around me in the most awkward hug I've ever had. I tried to think if I knew her, but was positive I didn't. I looked at Alexa for help, but she didn't know what to do either. After a moment, the women walked back inside the apartment complex and left. I was still a little shaken up when our friends came down just a few seconds later. Then we hopped in the back of a white van to go to Holandia and the festival.

The festival was so much fun. It almost felt like a fair back at home. There were a ton of beer and food stands and there were two bands. The first was a German band that played music and people in traditional German clothes danced to the songs. Later, an Irish band came on. Alexa and I talked about how weird it was that we were in Brazil at a German festival listening to an Irish band who was singing some English songs is a town translated as Holland. What a mixture of cultures and languages. Yet it was so much fun. I can't wait to go to more festivals around Apucarana.

Yesterday was a relaxing day as I caught up on sleep and just took a day for myself. I love hanging out with people, but as Alexa also lives in the same room with me, I rarely have actual alone time. Alexa went to a Mother's Day barbecue for a friend's mom and I stayed at home. It was very relaxing a worth not leaving the house.

Today has also been relaxing, but I need to run some errands and also get ready for my conversation club. Other than that, I don't have any plans but you never know. I might be invited to get beers with a friend later or I might just come home and watch Netflix. I never really know what my plans for the day are, but that's okay.

Thanks for reading!

bottom of page